Peanut Butter Chicken

My junior year of college, my husband (then boyfriend) invited me to dinner, that he cooked himself. And now I say it’s part of how he won me over. I may do most of the cooking in our family but that’s not reflective of his talent for cooking, but simply because I enjoy it more than he does.

What he whipped up for me was one of his favorite meals to cook and eat, a recipe his dad taught him years ago.

Peanut Butter Chicken.

IMG_3690

Most people upon hearing this make a strange face and think it sounds kind of odd. Even being a lover of peanut butter and chicken, the combination of the two hadn’t crossed my mind (clearly I wasn’t into Thai food yet).

So Jordan whipped up this incredibly simple and yet wonderfully tasty meal that has since become a staple in our home. It always reminds me of the beginning of our relationship, when I was awkward and nervous which is fun to think back on.

We usually serve it with rice and a veggie (typically zucchini). And tonight, some sweet potato fries.

Peanut Butter Chicken
serves 3-4

2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup peanut butter (crunchy, creamy, your choice. Can add more or less depending on your taste preferences)
Water
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp paprika
1 tsp soy sauce
Cilantro + Peanuts (optional)

  1. Dice the chicken breasts into cubes and cook in a skillet until nearly done.
  2. While cooking, season with salt and pepper.
  3. Add in the peanut butter. Depending on what consistency you like, add more or less water. I like it a little thicker so I add roughly 1/8 cup of water.
  4. Stir in the cinnamon, paprika, and soy sauce (All of which could be left out).
  5. Top with cilantro and peanuts, if desired.

IMG_3678

photo 1

IMG_3686

Reheats well in a skillet with some fresh peanut butter, or zapped in the microwave.

What’s your favorite meal someone has cooked for you? 

7 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chicken

  1. Um… Yum! Can’t wait to try this one. I love to make anything with fresh mozzarella, fresh basil, and tomatoes. Esoecially when it’s rolled up using a lasagna noodle.

    • I love fresh basil and mozzarella with tomatoes! One of my favorites as well. For the sweet potato fries, I just cut them into thin slices (mine are usually pretty uneven), then toss with olive oil, cinnamon, paprika, salt, pepper, a little flour and brown sugar. Spread evenly on a baking sheet and bake at 400F for about 20 minutes, flipping half-way through. Then I like to broil them for a few minutes to crisp. They’re not very crunchy, but we love them =)

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Dairy Free Weekly Meal Plan

  3. This sounds strange!!! I think they will like it!!! Can’t wait for our as I call it adventure dinners!!!! You know that what you won’t for dinner, I dunno!!! I’m going to open a resturant call the dunno don’t care!!!! Lol!!!! Or maybe a cookbook !!!

Now it's your turn to share...

