Handy

Last week, as I made French toast with homemade whole wheat sourdough bread (um, yum, by the way), I listened to a podcast by one of my favorite pastors, Craig Groeschel. He’s a boss. Craig recently wrote a book titled, “Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are,” and did a four-week teaching series on this topic.

The first sermon was called “My Feelings of Inadequacy,” and boy, is that something I’m sure we can all relate to. Groeschel exhorts us to cling to the truth of who we are in Jesus, that He has gifted us more than we know and aren’t to back down in fear as we compare ourselves to those around us.

It challenged me in an overwhelming amount of just a handful of areas in my life where I’m prone to do this. Blogging is definitely one. Stats become too big of a deal, basing the merit of what I write on the opinions of others.

For much of my life, I have LOVED handwriting. It’s the only form of “art” I’ve ever been good at. Drawing people, landscapes, etc., no way. But letters + words, that’s my favorite. My husband often laughs at the fact that I have various “fonts” I write in. One way of writing just simply isn’t enough.

I’ve been trying to develop my calligraphy/typography skills over the last year. My hubs got me a sketchbook for Christmas to keep all of my doodlings in and I’ve drawn a number of things since then. I debate about sharing them and feel intimidated when I look at the work of those I admire in this field.

But it’s important to me, and really a blast for me to do. So why not share?

Sarah:Hebrews Graphic

Hebrews 11:11 | © Niki Shirkman

7 thoughts on “Handy

  1. That’s beautiful Niki! What a great message and so true! So often we are held back from expressing ourselves because of fear of judgement when there is only one judge who matters and he is the one who have us our talents! Thanks girl!

  2. Love you and your fonts miss nik! It’s part of who you are and I adore that :) love you so much and miss you!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pingback: 7 Tips for How to Host on a Budget | Frame of Reference

Now it's your turn to share...

