Meltdowns + iPads

Clarion River. A beautiful, low-populated haven in Pennsylvania. My hubs’ family owns a little home on this river and we retreat here as often as our schedule allows. 

Image

Over Labor Day weekend we ventured over for one last stay before moving overseas. It’s one of my favorite places to spend time with Jesus–reading the Bible, journaling, praying and simply relaxing, free from the distractions of every day life. I couldn’t wait to sit on the spacious wooden deck, overlooking the river lined with morning fog, sip a hot cup of coffee, and curl up on the chair to read. 

As we were driving I was painting this vivid picture in mind, and all the sudden my heart sunk. I forgot (what felt like) the essential tools: my Bible and journal. I had a dramatic meltdown brief moment of disappointment until my husband brought me back to reality, reminding me that those things aren’t the only way I could spend time with God.

Silly me. I had limited the Creator of the universe to my way of doing things. While the Bible is a critical part of our relationship with Jesus, it’s not the only way to encounter Him.

It was a humbling experience for me, being reminded that our God can be experienced daily, from the simplest of things to the most extravagant. Not surprisingly, I had one of the best mornings with God I’ve had in long time. I pulled out my iPad and a legal note pad–it made for a wonderful study of the Bible.

His timing is always perfect. As we’ve just moved to Slovenia, I know my typical ways of worshipping God and spending time with him will likely be different. It stretches me to encounter Jesus in new ways and be enriched by His presence wherever I way be. 

Don’t limit the One who knows no limits. Seek new ways to experience Him. Let God surprise you with what He can do and remind you that He is everywhere. All of the time. 

What are ways you enjoy worshipping? 
(If this idea is new to you or you’d like to know more about having a personal relationship with Jesus, I’d love to talk with you!)

One thought on “Meltdowns + iPads

  1. Pingback: Morning Glory | frame of reference

Now it's your turn to share...

