A Step Forward

Well today’s the day.

The day I take a step out of my comfort zone, a step of faith, to be obedient to what the Lord has asked me to do. Tonight my hubs and I are giving the main talk at our weekly gathering for Cru at Ohio University

As I’ve said before, I struggle with feeling the need to perform. It comes through in my feeling inadequate, constantly comparing myself to others and at times times not taking opportunities because I fear what people will think of me.

But I’m so tired of living my life that way. Insecure. Fearful. Doubting that God could use me in a special way. So when the chance came for me to speak alongside my husband, I knew it was the time to drive a stake in the ground, making this a turning point in my life; of resting in who I am because of Jesus, not the opinions of my peers and coworkers.

It’s not so much the public speaking that makes me anxious, but the wondering of what people will think of how I did that gives me butterflies. That, and the anticipation of just wanting to get up there and do it already!

So I as I go through this afternoon, I ask for your prayers–that I’d remain at peace, staying focused on my reason for doing this (Jesus), clinging to to Galatians 1:10 [that I wouldn’t try to please man, but God], and excited about talking to students about being sent. My hubs is a natural at this but pray for him as well–that every word that comes out of our mouths would be from the Holy Spirit, not our own strength.

If you’re in Athens, come out to Morton 201 tonight at 9pm to hear us. I’ll post a link to the talk once it’s up for any of you that would like to hear it. Thank you again for your prayers and encouragement. What a blessing your feedback from this blog has been to me!

Now it's your turn to share...

