It Doesn’t Matter

June 17th marks one year since I married the love of my life! It’s crazy to me how the time seems to accelerate with each passing day. Our wedding day overflowed with beauty as has our (almost) 10 months of marriage.

Recently, my sweet friend Rachel (soon to be Schultz) Crouch posted about herwedding planning experiencethus far. Her perspective and honesty were a tall glass of ice water in this wedding-saturated culture.

Everyone hypes up your “big day” like it should be the most perfect, lavish, over-the-top day of your entire life. You should feel more beautiful than you ever have, spend whatever necessary to fulfill your dream wedding, and then live happily ever after.

During our wedding planning, I highly under-estimated the amount of time I would spend over-analyzing every little detail after the day had passed. It amazes and frustrates me how this consumes my thoughts on occasion. As a perfectionist and someone that struggles with feeling inadequate, I guess I should’ve anticipated this.

But no matter what decorations I wish I could change, which details didn’t come to fruition as hoped, what I’d like to do differently… it absolutely doesn’t matter. These thoughts reveal the definition of the devil yearning to distract me with utterly insignificant matters.

Because the only thing of fundamental importance is Jesus. His plan, given by the Father, went off without a hitch. From before his birth until the day that he ascended into heaven, every minute of his life was ordained by God, the Perfect Planner.

We were doomed, separated for eternity from God because of ours sins.
We were enslaved to the law, incapable of fulfilling it on our own.
We were like sheep without a shepherd, wandering and lost.

Then He sent His precious Son, Jesus Christ.

Alienated from perfect fellowship with His Father to be nailed to a cross, forever satisfying the wrath of God.
He came to loose the chains of sin and death, perfectly fulfilling the law.
He came as our shepherd, laying down his life for the sheep (us); giving eternal life, promising that no one will snatch us out of his hand.

And boom. Paradigm shift complete. It’s not about what menial things I wish I could change (mostly to make others think more highly of me). Eternity is what’s at stake, and I waste my time caught up in trivial affairs.

Think about the cross. About the shed blood and empty tomb, and allow it to give you eternal perspective. As we celebrate this day, remember it’s not about the bunnies, big family dinners, egg hunts or even just the tradition of going to church. It’s about an innocent Man, taking on our sin and setting us free from bondage to live the real happily ever after in heaven.

Now it's your turn to share...

