It Has Nothing to do With Us

Interviews. A process most, if not all of us, have gone through or will go through at some point in our lives.

What exactly does an interview entail? Talking about your strengths, weaknesses, accomplishments, experiences, and qualifications. In essence, making yourself look good. Or, more accurately, trying to make yourself look better than the competition.

Most people, myself included, get worked up before an interview–polishing their resume, cover letter and rehearsing answers to potential questions. If you really want this job, then you’d better work your tail off to get it, we’re told. In the end, someone is hired and you’re praying you’ve polished yourself up enough to shine brighter than the other candidates.

It’s all about you. It’s all relying on you. 

Want a huge, stress-relieving, freeing bit of info? God has a whole different system, and it’s way greater than what anyone else has to offer.

There’s no boasting in anything we’ve done. Why? Because we have nothing to boast about. All I’ve done is earn eternal separation from God because of my sin. But in His infinite love and grace, He sent His son Jesus Christ to take my place on the cross; freeing me from a burden I would never be able to bare.

Paul (one of the greatest men of God and author of about half of the New Testament) understood his life’s accomplishments in comparison with Jesus.

“But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ…” [Philippians 3:7-8]

Some translations say he counted them as “garbage or dung”. Yes, as crap.

My hubby gave an amazing talk at Cru’s weekly meeting on Idolatry + The American Dream. He summed up Paul’s words in Philippians with this:

“I don’t care what achievements are on my resume. Without Jesus, my resume says, ‘Condemned’. With Jesus, rip it up because he doesn’t care about my achievements before him or without him. It’s all garbage. Give me heavenly treasures and forget the rest. I want to go where no one knows Christ and make him known there.”

Thankfully, it has nothing to do with us, aside from our decision to make Jesus our Savior. Our standard for comparison isn’t the people around us–regardless of how high or low we esteem them. God is holy and perfect, and every single one of us falls short of his glory.

I’ll close with my favorite part of the song Who Am I, by Casting Crowns:

Not because of who I am,
but because of what You’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
but because of who You are.


Now it's your turn to share...

