Quin-what?

Quinoa [keen-wah].

Such an interesting word, one that I botched the pronunciation of until corrected. Thanks, Danielle Bray, and happy birthday! =)

Strolling through Kroger I’d always pick up the box, overanalyze and put it back down. Last week I finally pulled the trigger! And whipped up a tasty concoction for lunch yesterday. Quinoa is the best grain for you, containing all of the essential amino acids, it’s easy to digest, is gluten-free and has 6 grams of protein in just a half a cup. That’s before all the added yumminess!

I read from someone who made quinoa that they made the rookie mistake of not rinsing it before cooking it. Well, I guess that means I made the rookiest mistake of not reading the box that said this was pre-washed, no rinsing required. It stuck to my hand like Elmer’s glue when I attempted this. Whoops!

Here’s what I threw together this afternoon:
Servings: 3 (I only intended for the hubs and I but it could have easily fed one more)

1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups water
1 tsp/2 cloves garlic
Dash of EVOO
Half a zucchini, red pepper + avocado
Parmesan cheese (amount to your liking)
S + P (salt and pepper)
1 can black beans, rinsed
Feta cheese (again, your call!)

  1. Put the quinoa and water in a 2 qt. pan. Bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until all the water is absorbed. (Package instructions may vary)
  2. Open the black bean can and rinse thoroughly. Set to the side.
  3. Dice up the zucchini and red pepper into bite-sized pieces. Heat a skillet with the EVOO and garlic. Add in the veggies and sauté until lightly browned. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.
  4. Cut up the avocado, set aside.
  5. When the quinoa is done (will be translucent and water should be absorbed), dish into serving bowls.
  6. Mix in zucchini, red pepper, black beans and avocado. Top with feta cheese and enjoy!
Quin-beans

I served ours with roasted pine nut hummus + oven-heated wheat naan bread on the side. So delicious! I’m calling it “Quin [keen] + Things” =)

The ingredients are really at your discretion, add as much or as little as you like, substitute or leave out altogether!

Any favorite quinoa recipes you have? I’d love some inspiration!

3 thoughts on “Quin-what?

  1. I cook with Quinoa a lot – I buy it in bulk and never bother to wash it. Usually, I cook it in a rice cooker – 1 part grain and 2 parts water + a dab more water – it cooks perfectly.

    • Bill, I keep wishing I had a rice cooker! Seems it would make it even simpler. Thanks for your input. Also, love the photos on your blog–bright and appealing!

Now it's your turn to share...

